LOST: 11

image

“O si ere ni?” Cait thought he was mad. He wasn’t sounding sane. She wasn’t talking shit with him. Who does he think he is. She shook her hand from his grasp.

“Watch me.” She said as she tried to walk out of the door.
Derrick dragged her back towards him before she could even take up to three steps. She gave him a menacing stare, while he levelled it with a stare of indifference.

“Let me go!” She started shouting and struggling out of his grasp, while Derrick kept looking at her and smiling at her futile efforts.

“Argggghhh!” Cait yelled in frustration and went to the living room to sit on a couch. Derrick followed behind, shaking his head and chuckling at the same time. She looked like a grumbling child. He took a stool, placed it in front her, and sat on it. Cait gave a ‘what the hell’ look but didn’t stand up. She thought she could frustrate him as well by not speaking. So, she kept mute. Derrick did the same. They were both beginning to get furious at their silliness. Derrick began stomping one of his feet on the floor, while Cait began to hum. This lasted for good fifteen minutes until one them couldn’t take it anymore. That person was Cait.

“What’s your problem! Is it by force? E ma gbami.” Cait said, her words laced with both anger and frustration.

Derrick seemed unaffected. He just gave her a smile as he looked at her intently.

“Are you seriously smiling right now? You’ve got to be kidding me. You think this is funny? Ugh!” Cait said, questioning his silly smile.

“No babe. It’s not funny. I’m just smiling at the fact that you tend to speak your language―yoruba―when you are angry. It’s really cute.” Derrick replied, smiling again.

“You need help.” Cait said. But Derrick didn’t reply. He just kept looking at her in such a way that meant, ‘Spill. I’m waiting.” With a sigh, Cait coincided.

“What do you wanna know?” She said

“Well……”

“Wait! We will do it this way.” Cait interrupted and continued, “I would like to know more about you too. Not that you are interesting or anything. I just feel it should be tit for tat.” She said with a smug on her face. She actually found him interesting and that was why she wanted to get to know him.

“Agreed. But I will go first. So, first question, Now that I know Chinwe is not your boyfriend, I would like to know generally, do you have a boy friend?”

“Seriously, that’s your first question? Anyways I don’t. I’ve never had. I’ve never even kissed a guy before until you.” Cait explained. She had spoken too much because she was nervous. Derrick was sitting too close and it made her body respond to him in a type of way. She felt slightly embarrassed for being a talkative.

“Really! I’m honoured. On a serious note, I am. I hope I don’t only be the first, but to also be the last guy to taste your lips. I don’t think I woild be able to stand the thought of another guy kissing you. No way.” Derrick replied, staring at her lips.

Cait tried to reduce the heat in the room. If she didn’t do something right now, they might be at each other’s tongues again. She didn’t want that to happen. She was beginning to fall for him.m, kissing him again would make it worse. She cleared her throat to swerve his attention from her lips.
“So…. Uhmm….what were you doing in America before your dad called you over? Work, school, research?” She asked.

Derrick answered her question. “Work. I own two hotels. One in America and the other in Dubai. Currently, one  is under construction here, at home, and will I be making it the headquater.”

“Wow, that’s great. Wow. What inspired you to go into hotel management? I pegged you to be like an accountant or something.” Cait said, smiling. She was feeling more relaxed.

Derrick smiled back at her. Since he had known her, she hardly smiled for or at him. He really loved her beautiful smile.
He finally spoke, “You see, my idea of owning hotels is a little perverted.” He said with a wink.

He continued. “I felt men loved sex. A lot of guys take girls they know they can’t take home to hotels all the time. I know I did it a LOT. My friends over there did it, and many guys still do it. You know, you spend a lot of money on a girl, not caring about it because you know what you will be getting from her at the end of the day.  However, in time, I just fell in love with hotel management. It came from no where. Hence, I decided to expand the scope of RICKS’―the name of the hotel.”

Cait’s ears were burning from what she was listening to. You swine! She said inwardly, while she looked unshaken physically. She felt like breaking to shreds, every girl he had been with. She was jealous, and she knew it. It was too late to start pretending. She had feelings for him.

“Ask me another question.” She finally said.

“Alrighty. Cait?” Derrick said in a gentle voice because he felt he was about to ask something really personal.

“Yeah?” She answered looking at him in the eye. His eyes looked soft. They looked sad.

“What’s wrong sweetie? I want to know. I knew something was wrong when I almost ran over you with my car. Talk to me. Please.”

That was it for Cait. She burst into tears, and Derrick lifted her from the couch unto his lap, while he now sat on it. Maybe it was the gentle way he asked, she didn’t know. She would tell him everything. He really cared for her even if he hadn’t said it out loud. It was so obvious. No one, apart from her ma―who had now betrayed her―and B have shown her a kind of concern or care that she could feel. A kind that needed not words or actions to prove. It was one that you just know.

“It’s okay baby. It’s okay.” Derrick kept saying as she cried in his arms.

“It’s my dad……” Cait began her story and ended at how her mom had also betrayed her.

“It’s so annoying! How can you go back to such a person? I can’t. Hian!” She was no longer crying. Anger had taken over. She wasn’t even sitting on Derrick’s lap anymore. She sat on the stool, facing him and narrating.

She continued, “If she knew that that son of his wasn’t even as little as my dad had portrayed him to be, I don’t think she would allow him crawl to her bed. You see, I found out that his son is just two years younger than me. I didn’t tell ma because I didn’t want to damage her more than she already was. Can you imagine, my so-called father had been having an affair with another woman, I’m sure it wasn’t up to a year after I was born. If she knew all these, I don’t think…”

“Oh my God.” Cait cut herself fromher vents, burying her face in her palms.

“What is it Cait?” Derrick inquired.

“I need to go home. I fucked up too. I should have told her about what I found out years ago. That her husband’s son wasn’t the baby we thought he was. If I had told her, I’m sure she wouldn’t have let him into the house not to talk of sleeping with him.” Cait explained, tears streaming down her face.

“Come here.” Derrick beckoned with his hands stretched wide. She complied and he enveloped her in his arms.

She cried in his arms until she fell asleep. Looks like she was going to spend the night after all.

Leave a Reply

