LOST: 16 {Final Chapter}

image

Cait felt an arm lifting her. Whoever had her was walking now, she could feel it by the way she swayed with the person and the sound of boots. She tried opening her eyes, her head hurting in the process. Looking around, she saw how dark everywhere was, then she heard someone turn on a switch, illuminating the area with a light. Then she saw a man, half his face masked with a bandanna. With that, her memories came rushing back. She remembered being hit by some men. Recollecting who those men are, Cait began to struggle against whoever was carrying her. They seemed to be walking on what looked like a narrow hallway. Wale swerved right, holding Cait as tight as possible―which was quite hurting her skin―and opened a door. Stepping into a room which smelled of bleach and dirt at the same time, The Beast dumped her in a thud. Cait winced out of pain, a whimper coming out from her mouth. She had landed with her side, which now burned with pain―especially her ribs.

Wale, now unmasked, crouched down looking at her with an evil grin.
“Hey princess.” he said, taunting her. He then held out his hand to Ike―also unmasked―who placed a sharp pocket knife on his palms. He brought the knife to her temple, tracing her face down to her neck, when nibbed her a bit with it.

Cait let out a whimper. “What do you want from me!” She cried.
“I’ve done nothing to deserve this! Please, let me go. Please don’t kill me. I promise not to tell anybody.” Cait said in between sobs as she moved back until she hit a wall. She was in a very small place. All walls, with just one very high window. There was no way to escape except through the door that the other meanie was now guarding. Then, she remembered that Derrick had called for help. She didn’t know where this place was, but she hoped help came. Thus, she decided to stall her evil half-brother from performing his ritual on her.

“Why are you doing this Wale? We could have been buddies. C’mon what’s gotten into you” She started, feigning concern for The Beast.

“Look sweetie, if things had gone the right the way, if our father had done the right thing, this wouldn’t be happening. You are just paying for his sins.” Wale answered with a shrug.

“I-I don’t understand. What do you mean? What did he do?” Cait asked, confused.

“You see….” Now Wale was upright, circling the small space with his hands at his back, as he spoke. “That father of yours was just a crazy piece of shit! You and your mom get to have 65% of everything, and do myself and my mom get? 35%! What the fuck! I am the son here! Not you!” He shook with rage as he spoke, that Cait had to press herself to the wall, she wanted the ground to just open and swallow her. This was a nightmare.

Still confused, she asked. “What are you saying? What is everything?”

“Everything is the will you dumb ass! Wale barked.

“That’s right. I’ve seen the will. Mr. Lekan will be coming today, hence you die! And I, I get every fucking piece of dad’s possessions! He married mom cos he was looking for a son right? He got one didn’t he? So, why give me so little if a son was so important to him eh? All of this….” He gestured with his hand spread wide, coming closer to Cait.
“It’s all your dad’s fault. You are ever his perfect little princess. But I am what?! Nothing! Yes, I was sent to the best of schools, got the best of everything, bla bla bla! But affection? You got all the affection! You got all the attention. I was always the disappointment, you were always the role model I should follow! No affection for Wale huh? My stupid mother didn’t show me either. Pfft! She had married your dad for money. Who I’m I deceiving? She hops from one rich man’s bed to the other. What a hoe of a woman.” He said with a shake of his head and a mirthless laugh.

Cait was silent for a minute, she didn’t know what to say. The guy was really going to kill her. The rage he had just expressed was something deep, it came from within him, from his soul. His resentment towards her had been born a long time ago, and has grown terribly passed control. He was a killer with strong emotions. A psychopath.

Wale seemed lost, he continued to speak, looking at the window as if reminscing. “I’m doing this for her you know? I’ve always craved for her attention. I got this hair―which I now love by the way―just to taunt her.” He said touching his thick short dreads.

Scoffing, he continued. “She didn’t seem spooked by it one bit! She never complained about my friends, or lifestyle or whatever like any mother will do. She just let me be! I didn’t want her to let me be! Damn! It was like I’m just some product she provided for your dad, in exchange for money. I mean, she married him for money. Your dad was just too desperate to have a son to not have noticed. Everyone knows she loves money. She was the one who told me about the will and all that. She probably warmed her way to the lawyer’s bed and plotted with him.”

Wale moved closer to Cait holding her shoulders, and shaking her violently with strong emotions as he spoke. “Then she came to me! She told me we need to do something about this dear. Who knew that man was richer than he seemed!” He said his mom’s exact words.

“She remembered me Cait, finally she did. I was soooo happy! Now she noticed me. I’m so sorry, it has to come to this, but you just have to die princess.” He wasn’t sorry for at all!

“Take everythung! I don’t want anything from the will, please. I swear I won’t tell anyone. I promise. Please don’t kill me. PLEASE!!” Cait cried begging for her life frantically.

“That, my dear, isn’t going to happen” he was tracing her neck line with a pocket knife again, as he spoke. “I don’t like having loose ends.”

He cut her slightly with the knife’s tip, and chuckled as she let out a painful sob. Blood trickled down to her shirt. She was hugging the shirt―Derrick’s shirt―as she cried. If only she could see him right now. She wanted to tell him she loves him too. But she can’t because she was about to die.

Slap! Slap! Slap!

Cait’s face throbbed as Wale’s back-hand landed on her face. It’s like he wanted to torture her before he finally killed her. He was passing a message―FEEL MY PAIN! FEEL MY PAIN! He was kicked her now, everywhere―hands, legs, face, stomach. Everywhere! And right there Cait wished she was already dead. She was at the brink of unconsciousness as she lay on the floor of the small room, crying and begging that God make her death quick. The pain was too much.

BAM! BAM!

Cait heard gunshots as she drifted her vision going dark, entering into an unconscious state.

*                   *                   *

Two Days Later……

Someone was sniffing. No, the person was crying. She could hear sobbing sounds as she stirred, trying open her eyes. Her head throbbed terribly. In short, her entire body muscles were on fire.

So much pain. So much pain! She thought as she tried to understand why she was in this state. She sniffed the air. It smelled of medicine.Hospital? How did she get here?

“Cait? She heard a voice call her name.

The voice was familiar. It was her best friend. She opened her eyes better now, and Bunmi enveloped her in a hug.

“Oh Cait! Thank God!”

“AWWWW!” Bunmi had hugged to tight. Damn! her whole body hurt as hell.

“Sorry. I was just too happy. Being scared shitless. I’m so glad you are alive!”

“I-I don’t remember. Everything seems vague. How long have I been here?”

“Two days. You were kidnapped, tortured to the brink of death before the police swarmed in.” Bunmi broke down all over again as she helped Cait refresh her memory.

“Derrick! Where is he?!” Cait sat upright not minding her pains. She now remembered and the first thing that came to her mind was Derrick. She needed to know that he was alright.

“He is good Cait. Being asking after you, shouting at the nurses. They didn’t let him to see you. You needed rest. I didn’t either. I don’t really know him. Right now, I’m your freaking body guard. No man is raising a hand on you.”

Cait raised a brow as she took in her friend’s explanation.

Bunmi getting the hint of her confusion, explained herself further.
“This is one of dad’s hospital here in Berger. Got you transfered here from Ibadan―that was where those bastards had taken you. Derrick had earlier been rushed here.” She paused and gave her friend a skeptical look, then continued.
“You seem agitated to see him.”

“You have no idea.” Cait said sheepishly looking down at her hands. Tears began sliding down her cheeks as she continued to speak. “I was so scared, I thought I would never see him again. He told me he loves me, but I didn’t say it back. I thought I was going to die! I just wanted to tell him I love him before dying you know?”

“OH Cait. It’s alright now okay? Those bastards are going to rot in jail till death including that useless lawyer and that disgrace of a mother. I will go get Derrick okay?” Bunmi held her friend’s hands as she spoke with sympathy. Although she tried, she couldn’t hide the surprise from her voice. Cait was in love, she couldn’t believe it, and was happierthan ever. Finally!

Derrick came into the room, supporting himself with a walking stick. He saw Cait, looking so fragile and totally bruised. One eye was swollen, and her fore head was wrapped round with a white bandage, as well as her left palm. She looked so broken and in so much pain.

“Derrick!” She called to him and he sauntered towards her bed.

“Baby.” He grinned at her as he took a seat beside her, on the bed.

“Oh Derrick! I thought I will never see you again.” She was crying again, hugging him so tight, as if she didn’t want to ever let him go. Derrick kissed the top of head, inhaling her scent. He had missed her so much.

She unclutched her arms and looked at him straight in the eye as she continued to speak.
“You are the best thing that has ever happened to me. Before, I thought the best way to fight off dad’s betrayal was by shutting my heart out to men. Then you came, and you opened my eyes, you made me see that love can also be beautiful. You made me see that I had been on a lost path for a long time. You found me. And I’m glad you did. I love you, I love you SO MUCH!”

“I love you too, Cait. I love you.” Derrick replied, overwhelmed.

“I know. I know. Cait said, as she sealed her confession with a kiss.

。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。

Thanks to everyone who read this novella. To everyone who left a comment, who liked it, and who shared it in one way or the other. I love you all.

Watch out for The Runaway, publications would start soon.

God bless!

Leave a Reply

